Getting an error message as  “A DNS entry for “xyz.com” already exists. You must remove this DNS entry from all servers in the DNS cluster to proceed” while creating the new account in the WHM.


DNS stands for domain server and is a the one which  has the responsible part  in for the propagation of the domain name globally. When you buy a domain name from any of the domain name providers you will be provided with the Domain Name Server details which you need to deploy it in the server. As the domain name is a unique factor it cannot be deployed in more than one server.  And when it does so. The stated error occurs.


DNS Values


What is the concern:


When we create a new account in the WHM we get an error message as “A DNS entry for “xyz.com” already exists. You must remove this DNS entry from all servers in the DNS cluster to proceed” This means the DNS entry still exists in the DNS zone after terminating or removing of the account.


You will also face this issue when you try to add the primary domain as an addon domain because the DNS entry will already exist in the DNS zone so when you try to add the same domain as addon then DNS will through an error saying that the DNS entry already exists.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Why this issue occurs:                                                                                                                 

The reason for the above error message is, The domain name “xyz.com” was recently terminated or removed from the cPanel, But unfortunately, the DNS entry will remain the same in the DNS zone for this domain.


Generally, this issue will occur when the DNS entry of the same domain already exists in the server, When you will add or create the domain the server will create a DNS entry in the DNS zone for the particular domain. When you terminate or remove the domain or an account the DNS entry of the domain will remain the same in the DNS zone due to this you cannot able to add or create the same domain once again.


How can we prevent this issue:


We can eliminate this issue by not seeing the option “KEEP DNS ZONE” when we remove or terminate the account or a domain so when you terminate or remove an account from the WHM do not select the option “KEEP DNS ZONE” in the terminate account section.


How to resolve this issue:


The issue can be resolved by deleting the DNS entry of the website in the DNS zone


DNS Sever Details

Follow the below steps to delete the DNS zone of the website in the WHM

1: Log in to the WHM with the root privileges as an Administrator.


2: Select the option “Delete a DNS zone” and choose the domain name which you want to remove. If you will not option you can search for the option in the search box which you will find on the top left-hand side of the WHM.


After deleting the DNS entry for the domain you can create an account.


These can be done only in the reseller accounts or VPS accounts because you will get the WHM access only in the reseller and VPS plans.


Alternate solution for this issue.


There is no any alternate solution for this, if you face the same issue after doing all the modifications from your end you can contact us via phone, Live chat and you can send an email to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.